Pio Press Staff wins state journalism awards

The staff of The Pioneer Press brought home 32 state journalism awards, known as the Student Media Olympics, sponsored by the Oregon Journalism Education Association. The awards were announced on June 8 and cover work published during the period of April 1, 2019 to March 31, 2020. The Pio Press submitted 47 entries.

Senior Amanda Hansen was awarded Best of Category for Editorial Cartooning for the second year in a row. Her winning entry this year was a panel about the ban of wearing Halloween costumes at school.

Senior Amanda Hansen’s Best of Category Editorial Cartoon

The entries are judged by professionals and journalism instructors from around the country. A single entry in each category is given the Best of Category and all others are rated as Superior, Excellent, Honorable Mention or no award. Schools can enter up to three items for each category which range from writing to photography, layout and cartooning. Hansen was awarded Superior ratings for her other two cartoons entered.

Other Superior ratings were awarded to seniors Brisa Petravicius, Ivy Hartman and Payton Liebelt as well as junior Savannah Hoygaard. Petravicius won for a double-page layout titled “The ANSWERS to all of your questions.” Hartman received her award for a Sports Feature on senior Alyssa McNutt’s battle overcoming injuries. Liebelt was a winner for a feature on the Tollgate Inn and Hoygaard won for a commentary piece advocating CPR training for all students. Senior Tyler Baillie, a member of the Mee Ma yearbook staff, won a Superior rating for a Sports Action photo that ran in the newspaper as well.

Senior Brisa Petravicius’s double-page layout judged Superior by the Student Media Olympics. The layout features an illustration by senior Amanda Hansen that received a separate Excellent rating.

Six students won Excellent ratings, including again Hartman (Personality Profile), Petravicius (again for Double-Page layout) and Liebelt (Review Writing). Other Excellent ratings were received by senior Emma Logan for both an Inside Page Layout and Review Writing, junior Emmily McKinzie for Breaking News Writing and sophomore Rebekah Harrell for a Personality Profile. Hansen also won an Excellent rating for an Illustration that accompanied Petravicius’s award winning layout (see photo above). The entire staff was also awarded an Excellent rating for issue published on Feb. 28, 2020.

Senior Tyler Baillie won a Superior rating for Sports Action Photo for this football image

Eight students also won a total of 11 Honorable Mention ratings. Junior Keianah Weakland won three awards, all for Editorial Writing and junior Brooklyn Adams won two – one for Front Page Design and the other for Sports Feature Writing. Seniors Noah Perry (Inside Page Layout) and Connor Barnes (Sports News) as were juniors Henry Nelson (General Feature Writing) and Tamzyn Pendleton (Sports Reaction Photo). Hartman (Breaking News Writing) and McKinzie (Personality Profile Writing) also received Honorable Mentions.

Three SHS graduates also won awards. SInce the time frame for entries extends a calendar year into last school year. The senior columns of 2019 grads Tana Dwyre (Excellent), Olivia Dwyer (Excellent) and Marion Laraby (Honorable Mention) were all recipients.

%d bloggers like this: